2011 – 2012

Officers: Captain Tim Luetchford

The year began on a promising note with a number of keen, talented freshers joining the team. The most notable of these were Neale Roy, next year’s captain, and Mabel Li, both of whom strengthened the team leading to dreams of Cuppers success. Unfortunately, in the unseeded draw luck was not on Queen’s side, being drawn in the first round against the eventual champions St John’s. Despite some strong performances, the team were edged out 4-1 with both Luetchford and Li losing close matches. Despite this setback, Queen’s performed admirably over the course of Michaelmas Term and secured promotion to the first division. This feat was not quite repeated in Hilary Term, and the team’s progression to the premier division still awaits. Prospects for next year are excellent with the majority of the team staying, including both the Women’s and Men’s Blues captains, Mabel Li and David Phillips respectively, putting Queen’s in a strong position for league and Cuppers glory.